Championship leader Jonathan Rea put in a superb performance to claim victory in the second race of the weekend at Laguna Seca on Sunday to stretch his lead at the top of the World Superbikes Championship.

Rea will enter the summer break with a 59-point lead over teammate Tom Sykes as he eyes a third consecutive title.

After a second place finish behind the fit-again Chaz Davies in race one, the Kawasaki ZX-10R rider wasted no time in race two as he and Sykes scythed through the field from his reverse grid position of eighth to second by the end of the first lap.

Rea then went past Sykes on lap three and surged into what proved to be an unassailable lead to eventually claim the win by 2.8 seconds as he backed off while approaching the finish line.

Race one winner Davies had more trouble getting through the pack, but the Welshman finally got through into third position by lap seven.

Marco Melandri’s mistake on lap two saw him run off the track and come back in ninth place, but he managed to fight his way back to finish fourth, 17 seconds behind Rea.


1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing 25 laps
2. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing 2.887s
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 4.847s
4. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati 17.159s
5. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 22.741s
6. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia 26.377s
7. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia 28.475s
8. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia 29.718s
9. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Yamaha 33.044s
10. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha 33.541s
11. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda 36.756s
12. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki 43.031s
13. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki 47.306s
14. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki 50.488s
15. Jake Gagne USA Red Bull Honda 51.093s
16. Jakub Smrz CZE Guandalini Yamaha 59.197s
17. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki 1 lap


18. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki
19. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta
20. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW
21. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea