Harambee Stars coach Stanley Okumbi has named a 26-man provisional squad of home-based players for upcoming international friendlies against Uganda and DR Congo.

The friendlies are meant to prepare the team for the 2019 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifying matches starting in March.

“We have called up an initial squad of 26 local-based players who will report for camp at the Kasarani Stadium on Sunday 19, March,” Okumbi said.

Foreign-based professionals, including captain and Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama will jet in within the allowed Fifa dates to complete the jigsaw.

“A further list of foreign-based players called up will be availed in due course as we don’t expect them to link up with the rest of the squad until the commencement of the Fifa friendlies window,” the former Mathere United gaffer explained.

Western Stima defender Maurice Ojwang’ has earned a maiden call-up to the team, while former AFC Leopards midfielder Bernard Mang’oli has made a comeback after a period out in the cold.

Also in the squad is the reigning Kenyan Premier League (KPL) player of the year Kenneth Muguna – fresh from guiding Gor Mahia to the 2017 KPL Super Cup glory in a 1-0 win against Tusker FC over the weekend.

Leopards’ prodigy Vincent Oburu, who is embroiled in a contractual tag of war with arch rivals Gor Mahia, has also made the cut, so has veteran midfielder Osborne Monday, who is currently with league newbies Kariobangi Sharks.


Goalkeepers: David Okello (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)

Defenders: David Mwangi (Mathare United), Eugene Asike (Tusker), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Maurice Ojwang (Western Stima), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Sammy Meja (Thika United), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers).

Midfielders: Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar), Benard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards), Erick Johanna (Un-attached), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC), Joseph Kuria (Posta Rangers), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Noah Wafula (Tusker FC), Ochieng Ovella (Kariobangi Sharks), Osborne Monday (Kariobangi Sharks), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards).

Strikers: Jeremiah Wanjala (Kakamega Homeboyz), Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars) and Vincent Oburu.