Banyana trio in team of the tournament

Despite finishing fourth at the 2016 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, there was some consolation for South Africa as three players were included in the Caf team of the tournament.

The 17-member squad is dominated by hosts Cameroon and champions Nigeria, who have five players each followed by Ghana with a total of four players.

The trio of Jermaine Seoposenwe, Nothando Vilakazi and skipper Janine Van Wyk represent Banyana Banyana in the squad but only Seoposenwe and Van Wyk are in the starting line-up.

Best XI

Goalkeeper: Annette NGO NDOM (Cameroon)

Defenders: Meffoumetou Tcheno FALONE (Cameroon), Osinachi OHALE (Nigeria), Janine VAN WYK (South Africa), Linda ESHUN (Ghana)

Midfielders: Jermaine SEOPOSENWE (South Africa), Raisa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon), Elizabeth ADDO (Ghana), Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon)

Forwards: Ugochi Desire OPARANOZIE (Nigeria), Asisat Lamina OSHOALA (Nigeria)


Alaba JONATHAN (Nigeria), Marie AWONA (Cameroon), Janet EGYIR (Ghana), Francisa ORDEGA (Nigeria), Portia BOAKYE (Ghana), Nothando VILAKAZI (South Africa)